History of the Alliance

The Eurasian Academic Alliance for Global Health was established in 2021 through the financial support provided by the European Commission’s Erasmus+ programme.

The Alliance’s objective is to serve as a collaborative platform on global health education and research among academic institutions of the Eurasian region.

In the context of this Alliance – Eurasia is defined as a group of countries located in the Baltic Sea, Eastern Mediterranean, Black Sea, Caspian Sea and the Central Asia regions. While interested institutions from all countries around the world are welcome to join the Alliance, partners from the following countries are particularly encouraged to apply:

Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan.

The founding members of the Alliance are (in alphabetical order):

– Al-Farabi Kazakh National University (Kazakhstan)
– Astana Medical University (Kazakhstan)
– Batumi State University (Georgia)
– Bergen University (Norway)
– Heidelberg Institute of Global Health (Germany)
– National University of “Kyiv-Mohyla Academy” (Ukraine)
– Tbilisi Institute of Global Health (Georgia)
– Ternopil National Medical University (Ukraine)
– Tbilisi State University (Georgia)
– University of Tromso (Norway)